14 Auburn students selected as Washington Aerospace Scholars

Fourteen students in the Auburn School District have been selected as Washington Aerospace Scholars.

The scholars are among 297 students from across the state who have been accepted into the first phase of the Washington Aerospace Scholars (WAS) program. The program selects outstanding high school juniors to participate in a statewide, interactive, online learning experience, culminating in a six-day residential internship for select participants at The Museum of Flight in Seattle.

Selected students are encouraged to study math, science, engineering and computer science as they interact with aerospace engineers and educators. Students from every legislative district across the state compete to take part in the program.

Students are recommended by teachers and chosen for the summer residency by state legislators.

Auburn High School scholars

Margaret Akervold

Andrew Diebag

Linda Karout

Aaron Kercher

Brandon Olsen

Reshma Sivakumar

Kathryn Thompson

Brennan Wallin

Nathan Yin

Auburn Mountainview High School scholars

Wyatt Curtis

Ryan Hance

Darrik Moberg

Huong Vo

Auburn Riverside High School scholar

Manuel Tirado

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates