Auburn Riverside student-musicians earn prestigious state, regional honors

Eight Auburn Riverside High School student-musicians have been selected into the All-State Honor Groups sponsored by the Washington Music Educators Association (WMEA) and the National Association for Music Education.

The students are: Sumner Brock (bari sax); Kristina Brockett (clarinet); Marissa Brookhart (bass clarinet); Doug Berry (euphonium); Kyle Johnson (trumpet); Ariana Kupai (trombone); Jacob Hillard (tuba); and Aaron Howard (percussion).

Additionally, three ARHS student-musicians – Austin Bastrom (oboe), Adam Benabid (trombone) and Steven Summers (trombone) – have been selected to participate in the 2013 NAfME All-Northwest performing groups. This is the first year ARHS has had students selected for the honor.

Students will join more than 1,000 other high school student-musicians during the 59th WMEA State and NAfME Northwest Division Conference in Portland on Feb. 14-17. Student-musicians in each of these musical genres will rehearse together under the direction of world-renowned conductors and present a gala concert at the end of the weekend.

Well-known Washingtonians who have participated in All-State and All-Northwest conferences include trumpeters Doc Severinson and Allen Vizzutti, The Seattle Post-Intelligencer's Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist and columnist David Horsey, 2008 National Teacher of the Year Andrea Peterson, and jazz saxophonist Kenny G.


The Evergreen State College recently honored Auburn Mountainview's Jana Thomas with a Teacher of Excellence Award, which honors instructors who have made a difference in the lives of their students. Sara Fiksdal, one of Thomas' former students at Auburn Mountainview who now attends Evergreen, nominated her. "Ms. Thomas makes class fun and exciting, and accepts everyone with welcoming arms and a warm heart," Fiksdal said. Thomas is one of 50 elementary, secondary-school or college teachers from 10 U.S. states and two countries to receive the award. Each teacher receives a certificate and a window decal. ...

The following students from Auburn made the honor roll for fall term at Oregon State University: (3.5 GPA or better) Megan B. Mc Bride, senior, sociology; Peyton E. Prothero, sophomore, pre-public health; Laura N. Rayfield, freshman, university exploratory studies.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates