If you love thrillers, you’ll want to dive into ‘Desolation Mountain’

The dream is one you’ll never forget.

It’s dark, and scary, and it wakes you with pounding heart and dry mouth, a scream on your lips as your eyes slam open. It makes you afraid to go back to sleep. Like most dreams, it doesn’t make any sense. And, as in the new thriller “ Desolation Mountain” by William Kent Krueger, it keeps coming back.

That’s how it happened with Stephen O’Connor.

The dream came to him, sometimes many times in a week: a boy who was him-not-him shot an eagle from the sky before seeing something so malevolent, so terrifying, that it woke Stephen violently. It was a vision, he was certain but even his mide, Henry Meloux, couldn’t help him sort it out.

Cork O’Connor knew that this vision was bothering his son. Stephen just wasn’t himself, but he was a man now. Stephen would ask for help when he needed it — so, for now, Cork turned his attention to other matters.

A large corporation was trying to gain the rights to minerals and ores beneath “the rez,” and Tamarack County was split between the Ojibwe Indians who wanted the land left untouched, and local men who wanted better jobs. Tensions were high and Minnesota Senator Olivia McCarthy was on her way to speak to the people of Tamarack County about the issue and to gain some insight.

But it never happened. Senator McCarthy’s plane went down in the pines near Desolation Mountain. There were no survivors.

But nothing about this crash made any sense. Some claimed that there was no “black box,” but Cork knew better. Then people in the community started to disappear, pet dogs were found shot, a woman was killed, and roads were blocked off by officials who didn’t act very official. And when a face from Cork O’Connor’s past showed up in Tamarack County , Stephen O’Connor’s vision-dream intensified…

Used to be that Cork O’Connor novels leaned more toward the mystery side of the genre. There was a crime, and it was solved before you shut the book’s covers.

Not anymore.

“Desolation Mountain” is edgier than the other in this series. It’s dirtier, a little more current, and author William Kent Krueger delves much deeper into Native American spirituality than he ever has. Mixed with something that resembles today’s political atmosphere, that may seem odd but it works. It feels more like a thriller than an old-school mystery.

For fans of the series as it’s become, that’s welcome news. So is the presence of many of O’Conner’s family and friends, as well as an old friend-foe who reappears with a full case of intrigue to run the story. Also, one more thing: this book will make you scream at the end, but not for the reasons you think.

If you’re not a fan (yet), you’ll be fine starting here but be warned that “Desolation Mountain” will have you skittering for the rest of the series. Especially if you’re a reader who loves thrillers, this one is a dream.

More in Life

Auburn community calendar | Oct. 10

Events, benefits and entertainment listings

Avoid e-cigarettes, says CDC, as vaping illness outbreak continues

By MultiCare Health System, for the Reporter E-cigarettes continue to capture headlines… Continue reading

Auburn Community Players present the ‘Rocky Horror Show’

Cult classic premieres Oct. 11 and runs until Oct. 31 at the Auburn Ave Theater

KCLS Reel Fest launched – a film contest and festival with cash prizes

The King County Library System (KCLS) has launched KCLS Reel Fest, a… Continue reading

Auburn-area library program listings | October

Activities for families and children, teens and adults

Beware of Dawg Tamers

They ain’t nothin’ but Pound Dawgs and they ain’t never caught a… Continue reading

Warning signs of suicide, and how to help

By MultiCare Health System More than 300 million people of all ages… Continue reading

Poet’s corner

Pitts-berger Steal-ers thought they could steal the game but ended up in… Continue reading

Auburn Symphony opens season with a concert embracing art

The Auburn Symphony begins a new season with a stunning visual concert… Continue reading

Parrot in the Park | Poet’s corner

There was a parrot living in Pacific City Park. The parrot didn’t… Continue reading

Curtis Stone is a Michelin Star chef, restaurateur, author and media personality. He began his cooking career in his homeland of Australia and later honed his skills at Michelin starred restaurants in London under renowned chef Marco Pierre White. COURTESY PHOTO
Award-winning chef and TV personality coming to Southcenter

Curtis Stone hostd ‘Coffee with Curtis’ event at Albert Lee Appliance on Sept. 19

City’s Bravo Performing Arts season opens

Comedy, legendary rock music acts to step on September stage