Auburn School District to recognize volunteer | Honor roll

Michelle Rylands - Courtesy photo
Michelle Rylands
— image credit: Courtesy photo

For the Reporter

The Auburn School District Board of Directors presents the Gold Star Volunteer Award to Michelle Rylands at 7 p.m. Monday in the board room at the James P. Fugate Administration Building.

Rylands, a woman of action, is being recognized for her work in the district. She has been instrumental in numerous volunteer activities. She is the Ilalko Elementary PTA president, secretary of the Auburn Council of PTAs and a membership chairperson for Washington State PTA Region 9.

"Michelle is always giving of herself and time to the benefit of all," said Ilalko Elementary Principal Tim Carstens.

Rylands recently volunteered as a member of the district Technology Ad Hoc committee, giving a much needed parent perspective on the needs of technology and its use across the district. She also is a volunteer for Auburn Citizens for Schools.

Robotics students shine

Mt. Baker Middle School robotics students won numerous awards at the FIRST Tech Challenge District Championship on Jan. 12.

The MindBot Maniacs team members are students Corey Jansen, AJ Maas, Joey Cacatian, Kyle Bates and Ben Geisen. Don and Kathy Jansen are the mentors.

The rookie team won the following awards with its robot:

• Tahoma League champion
• 2013-2014 East Interleague qualifying tournament winning alliance
• Inspire Award - Second-place winner
• Think Award finalist
• PTC Design Award finalist
• Motivate Award finalist

Based on its accomplishments, the team qualified for the Washington State FIRST FTC Robotics Championship on Jan. 26 at Issaquah High School.

The competition is organized by For Inspiration and Recognition in Science and Technology (FIRST). The mission of the organization is "to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders, by engaging them in exciting mentor-based programs that build science, engineering and technology skills, that inspire innovation, and that foster well-rounded life capabilities including self-confidence, communication, and leadership."


Auburn's Chaise Devries and Annette Harnish made the fall semester honor roll at Montana State University. ...

Incoming Pacific Lutheran University students Miranda Martens, from Auburn Riverside High School, and Emily Moren, from Auburn High, each has been awarded a prestigious President's Scholarship worth $22,000 a year – along with the opportunity to earn even more. PLU offers a number of merit scholarships to recognize academic achievement, leadership and service, as well as the promise of continued success in these areas as a PLU student. The Presidential Scholarships are renewable for three additional years of undergraduate study. ...

Jonathan Urmenita graduated from Washington State University during fall commencement on Dec. 7. Urmenita, a 2009 Auburn Mountainview graduate, earned a music degree with a double major in education and performance, with an emphasis in jazz studies. He graduated with top honors and received recognition from the Golden Key International Honor Society and The National Society of Collegiate Scholars. ...

Auburn's Michael Frank recently graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a bachelor of science degree in dietetics. ...

Avery Aresu, a 2010 Auburn Riverside graduate, recently graduated from the University of Portland with a bachelor of arts degree in English, with a minor in fine arts. She specialized in creative writing and studio art.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates