Auburn middle school students compete in math showdown | Briefs

The district’s seventh grade individual math winners were, from left: Teya Evans (Rainier Middle School); Andre Hall (Rainier); and Oscar Safsten (Mt. Baker).  - Courtesy photo
The district’s seventh grade individual math winners were, from left: Teya Evans (Rainier Middle School); Andre Hall (Rainier); and Oscar Safsten (Mt. Baker).
— image credit: Courtesy photo

For the Reporter

Auburn School District students competed in the inaugural middle school math competition last Friday.

A field of 48 students competed as individuals and teams at the half-day event at Auburn High School. The Auburn Public Schools Foundation (APSF) sponsored the contest.

Participants took individual tests, mental math exams and competed as teams working algebra, probability and geometry problems. Contestants were chosen for the competition based on a combination of test scores, teacher recommendations, aptitude and interests.

Teams were grouped by grade level and school. Students received two points for a correct answer, zero points for a blank, and one point was deducted for incorrect answers.

The winners were: Individual, sixth grade, 1. Zachary Botz (Mt. Baker), 2. Jackson Conner (Cascade), 3. Alina Papirnik (Cascade); seventh grade, 1. Andre Hall (Rainier), 2. Teya Evans (Rainier), 3. Oscar Safsten (Mt. Baker); eighth grade, 1. Hunter Whitlock (Rainier), 2. Conner Whitlock (Rainier), 3. Tim Bronitskiy (Mt. Baker); team, eighth grade, 1. Mt. Baker (Colby Tong, Jonathan Tran, Gobindroop Mann, Tim Bronitskiy); sixth grade, 2. Mt. Baker (Zachary Botz, Morgan Putnam, Melaku Akalwold, Kimberly Gavin).

Individual winners received wooden plaques recognizing their achievements and first-place winners earned a graphing calculator. Team winners also received plaques.

Middle school and high school math teachers organized and ran the event.

High school math club students from Auburn and Auburn Mountainview high schools scored the tests and did the data entry to compile the winners.

APSF is a nonprofit group that raises funds to enhance programs for ASD students and make those programs more accessible for all students.

For more information, visit

Early Learning Fair on tap

The Auburn School District hosts its eighth annual Early Learning Fair from 6-7:30 p.m., Tuesday at the Auburn Performing Arts Center, 206 E St. NE.

The free event features dinner, fun learning activities and community resources for parents. Kids can enjoy entertainment from "The Reading Magician" while parents browse the community resource tables.

Families with infants, toddlers and pre-school age children are invited. Translation services will be available.

For more information or to RSVP, please call Lauri Rogojin at 253-931-4950 or email


The Auburn Public Schools Foundation has made its first donation the school district. APSF board president Peter Beckwith, along with other Board members, presented a check for $1,000 to the district on March 10. The first three programs identified for APSF support are the STEM/robotics program, musical programs and after-school tutoring. Growth of the foundation will provide opportunities for support of additional programs.

"Program needs exceed public funding and the mission of the foundation is to fill that gap so students can achieve their greatest potential," Beckwith said. "With community support, this donation is just the first drip of what we anticipate being a steady stream of funding to support educational opportunities for our students." ...

The Auburn School District was awarded $445,722 as part of the Road Map Region Race to the Top grant. The funds are to be used for a North Auburn Parent and Community Partnership (NAPCP) program for intensive support to students at Dick Scobee Elementary School. The Race to the Top Deep Dive 3 Investment fund is to establish community-school partnerships. The fund is unique as it is intended to impact student outcomes and reduce the achievement gap through innovative and replicable partnerships between schools and community-based organizations. ...

Auburn Mountainview High School is the recipient of the National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA) Safe Sports School award for its sports medicine program. The award champions safety and recognizes secondary schools that provide safe environments for student athletes. The award reinforces the importance of providing the best level of care, injury prevention and treatment.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates