District announces Teachers of the Year | School briefs

For the Reporter

The Auburn School District Board of Directors recognizes the Auburn School District Teachers of the Year at 7 p.m. Monday in the board room at the James P. Fugate Administration Building.

Travis Volk, a first-grade teacher at Washington Elementary; Susan Winter, a Mt. Baker Middle School social studies and leadership teacher; and Meri Benedict, a leadership and health teacher at Auburn Riverside High School are this year’s winners.

Each year the district honors one elementary school teacher, one middle school teacher and one high school teacher.

All three teachers will move on to the regional competition. One teacher from each region will move on to the state competition. The state winner will move on to the 2015 national competition.


Auburn Riverside High School future engineers and architects recently competed in the State Technology Student Association competition in Bellevue.

The winners were: Brady Lewis and Artem Deyneka, animatronics (sixth place); Abby Gooch and Alexandra Geisen, architectural renovation (fourth); Hannah Briley and Andrea Hill, architectural renovation (fifth); Aaron Rice and Kyle Wuerch, CNC production (fifth); Kyle Isom, computer, aided design, 2D, architecture (fifth); Michael Moffitt, computer, aided design, 3D, engineering (second); Kyle Isom, dragster design (fourth); Ryan Floth and Armando Alonso, engineering design (fifth); Alexandra Geisen, essays on technology (sixth); Matt Jones, flight endurance (fifth); Michael Moffitt, technical sketching and application (fourth); Sergio Palacios, transportation modeling (first); Artem Deyneka, transportation modeling (third); Jon Klugh, transportation modeling (fourth); Nick Konkler, transportation modeling (fifth); Artem Deyneka, woodworking and design and CAD, small project, (first place); Kyle Wuerch, Travis Tran and Adrian Tong, vex robotics (fifth).

Additionally, Gooch, Geisen, Moffitt, Isom, Palacios, Deyneka, Briley and Hill also qualified for the national competition in June in Washington D.C. As a team, they also qualified for nationals in the Technology Bowl, Engineering Design and Manufacturing Prototype.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates