Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame inductees announced

Joe Baze, a patriarch of the Baze racing dynasty, heads the 2010 class voted into the Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame.

Baze, trainer Bill McMeans, breeder Les Turner and Biggs were all voted into the Hall of Fame by a panel composed of the WTOBA, HBPA, Emerald Downs and the media.

The induction ceremonies will follow the races Saturday, Aug. 21, on the eve of the 75th Longacres Mile.

In addition, James Seabeck will be honored for Lifetime Achievement in the Washington Thoroughbred industry.

Joe Baze becomes the third member of the state’s most famous racing family to make the Hall of Fame. Son Russell, the nation’s all-time winningest rider, and nephew Gary, the state’s all-time winningest rider, were elected in 2004 and 2003, respectively. Joe Baze was an outstanding jockey in his own right while winning titles at Longacres, Bay Meadows and Golden Gate Fields. He scored a Longacres Mile victory aboard Pitch Out in 1971 and set a world record for six furlongs (1:07 1/5) on Grey Papa in 1972. Paul Frey, Gallyn Mitchell and Merlin Volzke were the other jockey finalists.

Bill McMeans developed six Gottstein Futurity winners including an unprecedented three straight from 1970-72. In 1974 he saddled 6-year-old Times Rush to a victory in the Longacres Mile. Cecil Jolly, Tim McCanna and Larry & Sharon Ross also were finalists in the trainer category.

Turner, the proprietor of Rural Land Farm in Quincy, finished in the top 10 in Washington breeding 16 consecutive years (1963-79) and also stood the prolific Strong Ruler, seven times the leading stallion in the state of Washington. The pre-1970 breeding category also included John Carlson, George Newell and A.E. & A.J. Penney

Biggs won 18 races, over $305,000, and for many years was the state’s leading money-earner. Born in 1960, the Washington-bred by Domingo won five stakes including the $100,000 Californian at Hollywood Park in 1967, and three stakes at Santa Anita from 1965-68. Delicate Vine, Military Hawk and Pataha Prince were also finalists in the horse category.

Washington Thoroughbred Hall of Fame

Horses (year inducted)

Captain Condo (2003), Chinook Pass (2003), Trooper Seven (2003), Saratoga Passage (2004), Turbulator (2004), Smogy Dew (2005), Sir William (2006), Peterhof’s Patea (2007), Belle of Rainier (2008), Sparrow Castle (2009), Biggs (2010).


Gary Baze (2003), Ralph Neves (2003), Gary Stevens (2003), Russell Baze (2004), Basil James (2005), Albert Johnson (2006), Johnny Adams (2007), Larry Pierce (2008), Lennie Knowles (2009), Joe Baze (2010).


Allen Drumheller (2003), Jim Penney (2003), Tom Smith (2003), Charles Whittingham (2004), Bud Klokstad (2005), Frances Keller (2006), R.H. McDaniel (2007), Glen Williams (2008), Kathy Walsh (2009), Bill McMeans (2010).


Herb Armstrong (2003), Jerre Paxton (2003), George Drumheller (2004), Guy & Barbara Roberts (2005), C.J. Sebastian (2006), Dan Agnew (2007), Frank Brewster (2008), Wilbur & Marianne Stadelman (2009), Les Turner (2010).

Eligibility requirements: Any Washington-bred or any horse that has raced at least twice in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame. Any jockey or trainer born in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, or any jockey or trainer who has competed in at least five years in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame. The breeding category alternates yearly between pre-and-post 1970 (2010 was pre-1970).

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 14
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates