Local football players, coaches garner SPSL North 4A honors

Players and coaches from the Auburn and Auburn Riverside football teams dominated the end-of-season awards for the South Puget Sound League North 4A.

Auburn Riverside led the way with quarterback Kevin Thomson's selection as the league's Offensive Back of the Year.

Teammate Drew Wallen was honored as the Defensive Back of the Year for his play for the Ravens, who finished the year as co-champs of the SPSL North 4A.

Auburn Riverside's Bryant Thomas was named Coach of the Year, with Marcus Yzaguirre earning Assistant Coach of the Year honors. The Ravens improved from 1-9 in 2012 to 7-3 this season.

Auburn's Kieo Buchanan was chosen as the league's Special Teams Player of the Year.

Also honored from Auburn Riverside was senior offensive lineman Adam Domenowske, who, along with Wallen and Thomson, was chosen to the first-team offense.

Raven senior running back Cole Huckaby, senior offensive lineman Shaun Meehan, and junior wide receiver Gavin Hettinger were honored with second-team offense selections.

Offensive honorable mentions from Auburn Riverside were senior offensive lineman Larkin Williams and junior offensive lineman John Coon.

Raven senior linebacker Alex Riley and senior defensive lineman Derek Hart joined Wallen on the first-team defense.

Senior linebacker Artem Deyneka was picked to the second-team defense, and senior defensive back Michael Lucchesi, senior linebacker Joey Galeno, defensive lineman Meehan, and senior defensive lineman Marcus Atuafua were picked as honorable mentions.

Sophomore cover Josh Turner and senior kicker Brandon Starks were honored for special teams play, rounded out Auburn Riverside's selections.

For Auburn, Buchanan – at running back – senior tight end Dom Ecklund, and junior offensive lineman Peyton Polley were named to the second-team offense.

Sophomore running back Ercle Terrell and senior offensive lineman Daniel Frunchak were picked as honorable mentions.

Ecklund was honored for his play in the secondary with a first-team defense choice for the Trojans. Also chosen was Frunchak at defensive line.

Senior defensive back Jaykob Sloan was named to the second-team defense and sophomore linebacker Dillon O'Grady earned honorable mention.

Our Mobile Apps

Community Events, April 2014

Add an Event
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Apr 18 edition online now. Browse the archives.