COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs announces 2019 race dates

67-day meet opens April 20, ends Sept. 22

  • Friday, November 9, 2018 3:49pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 67-day live racing season in 2019, with opening day Saturday, April 20, and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 22.

The race dates were approved Friday at the Washington Horse Racing Commission monthly meeting at Emerald Downs, and are nearly identical to last season’s 67-day meeting.

Opening day, April 20, is the lone racing day Easter weekend, followed by Saturday/Sunday racing April 27-28 and May 4-5. Friday racing begins May 10 and continues the remaining 20 weeks of the season.

Post times also remain the same as last season: 2 p.m. Sundays, 6:30 p.m. Fridays, and either 2 p.m. or 5 p.m. Saturdays. The first eight Saturdays, April 20 through June 8, feature a 2 o’clock post and the final 15 Saturdays, June 15 through Sept. 21, feature a 5 o’clock post. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Wednesday, July 3, also begins at 5 p.m.

The 84th Longacres Mile (Grade 3) will be run Sunday, Aug. 11, with the complete 2019 stakes schedule released in January.

2019 Emerald Downs live race days

April (3): Saturday, April 20, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 27, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 28, 2 p.m.

May (13): Saturday, May 4, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 11, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 18, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 25, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Friday May 31, 6:30 p.m.

June (14): Saturday, June 1, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 8, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 30, 2 p.m.

July (13): Wednesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 5, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 6, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 7, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 12, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 13, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 14, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 19, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 20, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 21, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 26, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 27, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 28, 2 p.m.

August (14): Friday, Aug. 2, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 3, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 4, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 9, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 10, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 11, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 16, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 17, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 18, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 23, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 24, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 25, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 30, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 31, 5 p.m.

September (10): Sunday, Sept. 1, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 22, 2 p.m.

More in Sports

Auburn falls to TJ in overtime, ends run in district playoffs

For a second consecutive night, Auburn went into overtime in a bid… Continue reading

Former Raven, Highline standout Runsvold signs with MSU Billings | Men’s soccer

From MSUB Athletics staff Noah Runsvold, a standout soccer player at Auburn… Continue reading

Auburn coach Matt Hoover exults after his 132-pound wrestler, Gabe Sena, reversed his opponent and pinned him before the second-round buzzer sounded to win his weight class during the NPSL Olympic Division/sub-district tournament championship on Feb. 2. Sena qualified for the regionals, which were canceled last Friday because of storm conditions. A revised state tounament is on for this weekend. RACHEL CIAMPI, Auburn Reporter
State expands the brackets

In wake of canceled regionals, WIAA develops 32-person entry for Mat Classic weight divisions

Auburn boys ousted from district basketball tournament

Auburn’s boys basketball season came to an end Wednesday night following a… Continue reading

All-North Puget Sound League Olympic Division swim and dive teams announced

Coaches recently selected their all-North Puget Sound League Olympic Division swim and… Continue reading

Storm covers Trojans in district playoff

Skyview races to quick lead, goes on to post 60-36 win

Chargers jolt Lions in district playoffs; Auburn falls despite Strojan’s 18 points

JaQuaya Miller scored 25 points and Jordyn Jenkins had 21 as Kentridge… Continue reading

The Thunderbirds’ Roddy Ross. COURTESY PHOTO, Brian Liesse, T-Birds
Americans sneak past Thunderbirds

Wedman has goal and assist in 4-3 loss to Tri-City

Auburn Reporter honors the Lions’ Nahaku, Martinez

Auburn Mountainview High School’s Kamana Nahaku, wrestling, is the Auburn Reporter’s Male… Continue reading

Most Read