Holman earns award for excellence

Arlista Holman

  • Monday, June 2, 2008 6:52pm
  • News

Arlista Holman

Arlista Holman, a registrar at Auburn High School, received a Classified Employee Excellence Award for her outstanding service.

Holman is one of 36 classified school employees from across the state to recently earn the honor. She received a $1,000 check and a certificate in recognition for her hard work and commitment to students.

“For me to be selected is quite humbling and quite an honor because there are so many outstanding administrative assistants in our district,” said Holman, who has lived in Auburn since 1983.

The awards were proposed by the Public School Employees of Washington, a union representing classified employees, and were approved by the 2007 Legislature.

“These awards recognize the skills, caring and dedication of these often unsung heroes in schools across the state,” Terry Bergeson, the state superintendent of public instruction.

Bergeson and Linda Cowan, Auburn School District superintendent, were on hand to present the award to Holman at an April awards ceremony in the Senate chambers.

Cris Cruickshank, West Auburn High registrar, nominated Holman for the award.


Auburn Riverside engineering and drafting students competed at the Washington State Technology Student Association conference and student competitions in Everett. The TSA is a national student organization, which allows students interested in technology to compete and be judged by professionals within the fields or engineering, architecture, video and construction. Auburn Riverside had several student place in the following events: CAD animation architecture: (first, Chris Jensen; fifth, Jenna Cull); CAD animation engineering (third, Kyle Ridge; fourth, Phil Raschkow); construction systems (second, Blair Russell and Ramiro Yescas); dragster design (fourth, Ryan Leslie); radio controlled transportation (second, Erin Lane and Blair Russell); technology challenge (first, Chris Jensen and Dr. Phil Raschkow); technology problem solving (second, Kyle Ridge and Chris Jensen); transportation modeling (first, Ryan Leslie; second, Casey Allen; third, Kyle Ridge; fourth, Ramiro Yescas; technology bowl (fifth, Erin Lane, Megan Kerrigan and Casey Allen); technical sketching and application (fifth, Kyle Ridge). … The Auburn Regional Medical Center Auxiliary is offering scholarships in the amount of $2,000. Scholarships are available to full-time students pursuing a career in a health care field. Applicants must have completed a minimum of two years of undergraduate work and have been accepted into a medical program. All applications must be received by May 9. To learn more, contact Gretchen Handorff-Karout, at 253-833-7711, ext. 1254.

Talk to us

Please share your story tips by emailing editor@auburn-reporter.com.

To share your opinion for publication, submit a letter through our website https://www.auburn-reporter.com/submit-letter/. Include your name, address and daytime phone number. (We’ll only publish your name and hometown.) Please keep letters to 300 words or less.

More in News

Drive-thru COVID-19 virus testing last week in the parking lot near Everett Memorial Stadium in Everett. A study by the University of Washington and UnitedHealth Group, conducted at Everett Clinic locations, found that a less-intrusive form of the coronavirus test would require fewer precautions by health care workers. (Andy Bronson / The Herald)
New self-swab COVID-19 test is just as accurate, study finds

The study, under peer review, was led by an Everett Clinic doctor. It could speed up testing nationwide.

Life Care Center (LCC) of Kirkland is facing more than $600,000 in fines for its response to the COVID-19 outbreak in its facility. Samantha Pak/Sound Publishing
Life Care in Kirkland facing more than $600K in fines for COVID-19 response

The facility has until Sept. 16 to pay or address areas of concern or it will be terminated.

Dentist checking patient’s teeth. Sound Publishing file photo
Dental foundation serves Medicaid patients through COVID-19

The Arcora Foundation is also attempting to expand its urgent care database, allowing those with different insurances to use its services during the outbreak.

Gov. Jay Inslee during a press conference April 2, 2020. (Photo courtesy of Gov. Inslee’s Facebook page)
Gov. Inslee extends stay-home order to May 4

As in other states, demand for intensive health care due to COVID-19 is expected to peak later in April.

Unemployment claims continue to climb

For the week of March 22-28, claims have reached more than 181,000.

Alan Spicciati. FILE PHOTO/Auburn Reporter
Update from Auburn School District superintendent

Staff to take spring break April 6-10

Inslee to state businesses: Pivot to make medical equipment

The governor said Wednesday that the state must become self-reliant in the fight against COVID-19.

Man dies in Auburn shooting

Apparent robbery attempt Tuesday night at boat repair shop; suspect at large

Most Read