Coulterberry and jockey Amadeo Perez charge to victory in the $50,000 Muckleshoot Tribal Classic in Septemver at Emerald Downs. COURTESY TRACK PHOTO

Coulterberry and jockey Amadeo Perez charge to victory in the $50,000 Muckleshoot Tribal Classic in Septemver at Emerald Downs. COURTESY TRACK PHOTO

Emerald Downs announces 2020 race dates; 63-day meet opens April 18

  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019 1:07pm
  • News

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 63-day live racing season in 2020, with opening day Saturday, April 18 and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 20.

The Washington Horse Racing Commission approved the dates at its monthly meeting last Friday at Auburn City Hall.

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino, which is owned by the Muckleshoot Tribe, will be celebrating its 25th season of racing.

Opening Day (Post time 2 p.m.) is the lone racing day opening weekend, followed by Saturday/Sunday racing April 25-26 and May 2-3. Friday night racing begins May 8, continuing through August.

Post times remain similar to last season: 2 p.m. Sundays, 6:50 p.m. Fridays. The first eight Saturdays, April 18 through June 6, feature a 2 p.m. post, while the final 15 Saturdays, June 13 though September 19, feature a 5 p.m. start.

Championship Sunday – featuring four stakes including the 85th Longacres Mile (Grade 3) – is scheduled for Sunday, Aug. 9. The complete 2020 stakes schedule will be released in January.

2020 Emerald Downs live racing days

April (3): Saturday, April 18, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 25, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 26, 2 p.m.

May (14): Saturday, May 2, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 3, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 8, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, May 9, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 10, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 15, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, May 16, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 17, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 22, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, May 23, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 24, 2 p.m.; Friday May 29, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, May 30, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 31, 2 p.m.

June (12): Friday, June 5, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, June 6, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 7, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 12, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, June 13, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 14, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 19, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, June 20, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 21, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 26, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, June 27, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 28, 2 p.m.

July (13): Friday, July 3, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, July 4, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 10, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, July 11, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 17, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, July 18, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 24, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, July 25, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 26, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 31, 6:50 p.m.

Aug.ust (14): Saturday, Aug. 1, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 7, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 8, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 14, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 21, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 28, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 30, 2 p.m.

September (7): Saturday, Sept 5, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 6, 2 p.m.; Monday, Sept. 7, 2 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 12, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 13, 2 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 19, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 20, 2 p.m.


Talk to us

Please share your story tips by emailing editor@auburn-reporter.com.

To share your opinion for publication, submit a letter through our website https://www.auburn-reporter.com/submit-letter/. Include your name, address and daytime phone number. (We’ll only publish your name and hometown.) Please keep letters to 300 words or less.

More in News

Owner of proposed Enumclaw Recycling Center ordered to close Auburn location

King County has been trying to shutter the Buckley Recycle Center for nearly 15 years, and claims the lack of progress at the Enumclaw site shows the owner has little interest in complying with county regulations.

A train route that would shuttle people between Eastern and Western Washington could tie in with the proposed ultra-high-speed rail between B.C. and Portland. Photo courtesy RobertStafford/Pixabay.com
State receives King County to Spokane rail study

It would take about eight and a half hours to reach the Inland Empire from Puget Sound.

Courtesy of Mountain View Fire and Rescue
Mountain View Fire and Rescue seeks levy on Aug. 4 primary ballot

Service area includes unincorporated King County near the cities of Auburn, Enumclaw and Kent.

Firefighters treat 3 in head-on collision | Fire blotter

Reporter staff Between June 29 and July 5, the Valley Regional Fire… Continue reading

Bret Chiafalo. File photo
Supreme Court says state can punish WA faithless electors

Justices: Presidential electors, including Everett man, must keep pledge to back popular vote winner

Courtesy of the Auburn School District
There will be school this fall in Auburn

The district is working on answering the question: What will it look like?

Pills stolen, windows smashed | Auburn police blotter

Between June 27 and July 3, the Auburn Police Department responded to… Continue reading

Gov. Jay Inslee issued new guidance allowing the resumption of self-service buffets, salad bars, salsa bars, drink stations and other types of communal food sources in Phase 2. File photo
Buffets and salad bars back on the menu in King County

Gov. Jay Inslee has revised rules to allow self-serve food areas in Phase 2 of the state’s reopening.

Brian Tilley (left) and Katie Dearman work the wash station Friday at Kate’s Greek American Deli in Everett. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Governor’s no-mask, no-service order begins across Washington

“Just do not ring up the sale,” Gov. Jay Inslee said about customers who do not don the proper masks.

Most Read