State House Republicans re-elect Rep. Stokesbary as floor leader

State House Republicans have re-elected Rep. Drew Stokesbary, R-Auburn, as their floor leader.

Stokesbary was chosen for his leadership post during the group’s reorganizational meeting Monday.

The floor leader is responsible for developing and implementing strategies for debate and legislation on the House floor, and for creating plans to advance caucus-supported legislative policies.

In addition, Stokesbary will participate in House Republican leadership meetings and meet with Senate leaders during session.

“I am honored by the support and trust of my colleagues. I look forward to working with my colleagues to advance goals that benefit all Washingtonians, such as good schools, safe communities and a strong economy,” Stokesbary said. “I will also work to oppose ideas promoted by the majority party that would harm Washingtonians, such as an unnecessary income tax or a costly, new tax on energy.”

Stokesbary was first elected state representative of the 31st Legislative District in 2014. He was elected as floor leader in March to replace Rep. J.T. Wilcox, who was elected the new Republican leader after Rep. Dan Kristiansen stepped down and announced he would not run for re-election.

Stokesbary earned a bachelor’s degree from Duke University, studying economics and mathematics. He went on to Notre Dame Law School, where he graduated cum laude. He was admitted to the Washington State Bar Association and practices law in Sumner.

Stokesbary is a native Washingtonian and resides with his family in Auburn. He and his wife, Ashley, have two sons.

The Washington State House Republicans also selected the rest of their leadership team:

Rep. J.T. Wilcox, 2nd Legislative District (Yelm) | Leader;

Rep. Joel Kretz, 7th Legislative District (Wauconda) | Deputy Leader;

Rep. Paul Harris, 17th Legislative District (Vancouver) | Caucus Chair;

Rep. Gina Mosbrucker, 14th District (Goldendale) | Vice-Caucus Chair;

Rep. Jacquelin Maycumber, 7th Legislative District (Republic) | Assistant Floor Leader;

Rep. Drew MacEwen, 35th Legislative District (Union) | Assistant Floor Leader; and

Rep. Dan Griffey, 35th Legislative District (Allyn) | Whip.

Additional leadership positions will be appointed in the upcoming weeks.

The legislative session convenes on Jan. 14 and is scheduled to run 105 days.

For more information, visit, and