Auburn and Renton high schools to start girls flag football

The combined six schools are the most recent batch of 30 schools beginning programs.

Renton and Auburn school districts are now added to the Seattle Seahawks girls flag football grant.

Auburn High School, Auburn Mountainview High School and Auburn Riverside High School all will have teams for this upcoming winter season.

Renton High School, Hazen High School and Lindbergh High School are also starting teams and will receive grant money from the Seahawks.

The Seahawks announced Oct. 24 that these six schools along with 24 others in the state are partnering with the Seahawks, Nike and others to create girls flag football programs. There are currently teams in Federal Way, Kent, Tacoma, Mercer Island, Seattle, Highline and more.

The goal is for the teams to launch in the winter sports season, which starts in late November/early December. The schools receive equipment from USA Football and uniforms courtesy of Nike.

With this latest batch of 30 schools starting programs this season, the total is now 64 schools across the state. Each school should receive just under $4,000 from the Seahawks and the Seahawks Charitable Foundation.