Emerald Downs goes live on Sunday, April 22, beginning a 70-race-date stretch through Sept. 30. REPORTER FILE PHOTO

Emerald Downs goes live on Sunday, April 22, beginning a 70-race-date stretch through Sept. 30. REPORTER FILE PHOTO

Emerald Downs announces 70-day live racing season for 2018

  • Friday, November 10, 2017 3:10pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 70-day live racing season in 2018, with opening day Sunday, April 22 and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 30.

The Washington Horse Racing Commission approved the race dates at its meeting Thursday at Auburn City Hall.

“Its all systems go for 2018 at Emerald Downs,” track president Phil Ziegler said. “We are planning many exciting promotions, but it all begins and ends with our live racing product.”

Opening on Sunday is a first for Emerald Downs, and also the lone day of racing opening week. The track then offers Saturday-Sunday racing April 28-29 and May 5-6, with Friday racing beginning May 11 and continuing throughout the season.

Post times are pretty much the same as previous years: 2 p.m. Sundays and 6:30 p.m. Fridays. Saturdays, however, are slightly different in 2018. The first seven Saturdays, April 28 through June 9, feature a 2 p.m. post, and the final 16 Saturdays, June 16 through Sept. 29, have a 5 p.m. post time. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Tuesday, July 3, also begins at 5 p.m.

The 83rd Longacres Mile (Grade 3) goes to the post on Sunday, Aug. 12, with the complete 2018 stakes schedule released in February.

2018 Emerald Downs Live Race Days

April: Sunday, April 22, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 28, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 29, 2 p.m..

May: Saturday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 6, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 11, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 13, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 18, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 20, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 25, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 28, 2 p.m..

June: Friday, June 1, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 3, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 8, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 10, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 15, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 16, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 17, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 22, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 23, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 24, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 29, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 30, 5 p.m..

July: Sunday, July 1, 2 p.m.; Tuesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 22, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 27, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 28, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 29, 2 p.m..

August: Friday, Aug 3, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 4, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 11, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 18, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 25, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 26, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 31, 6:30 p.m..

September: Saturday, Sept 1, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 8, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 30, 2 p.m..

More in Sports

Young Ravens’ wave heading to 4A state

Freshmen direct Auburn Riverside to fourth-place finish at district

The Thunderbirds’ Wood checks the Silvertips’ Conrad Mitchell into the boards during WHL play Saturday night. COURTESY PHOTO, Brian Liesse, T-Birds
Silvertips slide past Thunderbirds on military appreciation night

Seattle wears special military-themed jerseys for charity

COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs
Emerald Downs announces 2019 race dates

67-day meet opens April 20, ends Sept. 22

Auburn Reporter honors the Ravens’ Britten, Ingram

Auburn Riverside High School’s Ben Britten, water polo, is the Auburn Reporter’s… Continue reading

WWU’s Rotter named to Google Cloud Academic All-District 8 Team

Junior from Auburn Mountainview is a two-time All-GNAC Academic selection, holds 3.82 GPA

COURTESY PHOTO, Tracy Arnold
Ravens scramble back but fall in boys water polo playoffs

Auburn Riverside sophomore Justin Pritchard looks to pass the ball as Kentridge… Continue reading

Thunderbirds goalie Liam Hughes falls to the ice in pursuit of the puck during WHL play Friday night. COURTESY PHOTO, Brian Liesse/T-Birds
Rockets slip past Thunderbirds

Andrusiak scores in 3-1 loss to Kelowna

Lions’ season ends with loss to Mount Vernon

Bulldogs dominate district playoff, earn berth to 4A state

Ravens’ Sutrick finishes eighth in state 4A championship | Prep cross country

Auburn Riverside’s Marcus Sutrick ran his swiftest race of the season on… Continue reading

Most Read