White River Valley Historical Society welcomes new board members and officers

Says goodbye to two longtime members

  • Thursday, December 28, 2017 2:06pm
  • News

Members of Auburn’s White River Valley Historical Society, which operates the White River Valley Museum and the Mary Olson Farm, elected its 2018 board and officers at the society’s annual meeting Dec. 20.

Prior to the election, the board and staff said goodbye to longtime board member Joan Mason, who served on the board since 2011, following in the footsteps of her mother, Eunice Ryan.

“I just love the museum and have thoroughly enjoyed my time on the board,” Mason said while accepting applause and thanks of the board and staff.

Board president Mike Weibel also retired from the board after finishing two consecutive three-year terms. Weibel, the director of human resources for the Auburn School District, worked in museum programming and doubled its educational reach during his tenure on the board.

New board members voted into service include longtime Auburn residents Dennis Grad, LeRoy Jones and Kim Perry, who agreed to return to board service after a year away.

Veteran board members Ronnie Beyersdorf will serve as board president, Dave Larberg as vice president, Jeff Black as treasurer and Kim Perry as secretary.

The board will oversee an operating budget of more than $600,000, participate in the restoration of Pioneer Cemetery, direct programming of the farm and operation of the museum. The board’s lead goals for 2018 will be education program growth to serve more members of the regional communities, identify a new museum director when originating director Patricia Cosgrove retires and begin restoration of the museum’s existing garage building into a standalone class and meeting room.

More in News

‘Together we are most effective’

Edgeview community gives back to those in need

Levy generates $118,000 worth of improvements to Auburn Senior Activity Center

When King County voters renewed the six-year Veterans, Seniors and Human Services… Continue reading

King County Council awards grant to Auburn Food Bank

In a coordinated act of kindness from the King County Council, the… Continue reading

Auburn woman earns Saint Martin’s University Trustee Scholarship

Saint Martin’s University has named Sandra Trevino a recipient of its 2018-2019… Continue reading

Wildfire smoke spreads into Auburn, Puget Sound region

Coming from Canada, Central and Eastern Washington

Algona Family Fun Days returns to the park

The community came togther for some music, food, entertainment and rides at… Continue reading

Auburn School District hosts Welcome to School event Aug. 22

Auburn School District families are invited to the district’s Welcome to School… Continue reading

Melanie Christianson Memorial Race set for Saturday, Aug. 11

Event raising money for paralysis recovery

Auburn School District Board appoints new director

The Auburn School District Board of Directors has appointed Laura Theimer as… Continue reading

Most Read